Strike committee structures in place – page 2

Hoping for the best but planning for the worst!



John Watson AMPA award winner



John Watson, TBU Staff Officer, was awarded The Jennifer MacLean Health & Safety Award at AMPA 2015 in March.

The award recognizes outstanding achievement in health and safety. by an OSSTF/FEESO member.

 TBU Staff Officer
 OSSTF/FEESO member.

 2nd Annual Mentorship Awards

nominations now being accepted

The District 20 Teachers' Bargaining Unit will annually recognize mentors with an award at the President's Celebration Dinner in June. This year's venue is the Holiday Inn Burlington Banquet Centre.

An essential part of the teaching profession is the ability and willingness of so many teachers to become mentors to their colleagues on a voluntary basis. True mentoring is more is about an ongoing relationship of learning, dialogue, and challenge.

To be eligible, the nominator and nominee must be members of the District 20 Teachers' Bargaining Unit. The mentorship must have taken place in the current school year.

Members of District 20 TBU can nominate another member as deserving of recognition for their mentorship on or before May 5th by writing a letter to TBU President Brad Fisher outlining the reasons why the nominee should be recognized.

Staffing: upcoming key dates

April 21 Deadline for surplus teachers to return Placement Preference form to HR
April 28 Surplus Placement meeting, 1:00 PM, JWS (TBU Staffing Committee will attend.)
April 30 Recommended deadline for submitting a letter of retirement for June 30.

Vice-President addresses All-Member Meeting



Harvey Bischof addressed approximately 300 teachers at the All Member Meeting in March, outlining the concerns surrounding provincial and local bargaining.



Brad Fisher, Halton Secondary Teachers President, spoke to the local bargaining issues at the All-Member Meeting at the UNIFOR 707 Galaxy Hall in March.

District 20 is organized!

While the PRN Team is working to provide you with the best possible deal at the local table, the time is ticking as the No-Board Report has been issued by the Conciliator. This means that we will be in a position to strike and the board to lockout or change the terms of the contract any time after April 17th.

In the event of a withdrawal of services or a lock-out by the board the District 20 Office has put the following committees and positions in place to serve the needs of the membership.

Structure	Members	
Strike Committee	Strike Coordinator:	Janet Scott scottj@osstfd20.ca
	Area Coordinators:	Doug Thompson, North Colin Post, West Janet Scott, WOSS Jim Sheridan, East and Aldershot
Rules	Chairperson:	Terry Vandenbroek terryvb@sympatico.ca
Committee		Kelly McCarthy
		Colin Post
PRN Treasurer:		Jim Young
		youngj@osstfd20.ca financial records
		strike pay coordination
Strike Pay	Chairperson:	Jim Young youngj@osstfd20.ca
Appeals Committee		Victor Disyak
		Kim Kerr
PRN	PRN Chair:	Harvey Bischof
Communication		Brad Fisher fisherb@osstfd20.ca
External Liaison Group	Chairperson:	Cindy Gage ctaylor165@hotmail.com
Group		Colin Post
		Kelly McCarthy Mike Druiven
		Art Hilson
Loans and	Chairperson:	John Watson watsonj@osstfd20.ca
Benevolent Committee		Stephanie Briggs
		Bonnie Cummings
Strike Captains	All picket sites now have Strike Captains and Picket Captains	

OSSTF/FEESO District 20 Teachers

Brad Fisher, President Jim Young, Member Protection Officer John Watson, Health and Benefits Officer Lorie Wiersma, Executive Assistant Phone: (905) 332-1228 Fax: (905) 335-9220 www.osstfd20.ca



Ann MacDougall, Office Design Committee Chair, sees the new office as an exciting opportunity to build a facility for the needs of the Halton Secondary Teachers.

Office Design Committee forging ahead with planning and design

The Office Design committee, chaired by Ann MacDougall, is in receipt of estimates from 2 reputable contractors, researched their backgrounds, and has now solicited references.

The firm of G. Griffiths and Associates has completed technical drawings for the 980 Fraser Drive office to obtain zoning clearance, a build permit and render a more detailed estimate from the selected contractor. Mechanical drawings for the HVAC systems are being rendered.

The Executive Ad Hoc Office Design Committee is comprised of Bonnie Cummings, Colin Post, Janet Scott, Brad Fisher, Ann MacDougall and the Executive Assistant Lorie Wiersma

Potentially Redundant Meeting

An information meeting for potentially redundant teachers is scheduled for Thursday, April 16th at 4:30 PM at the New Street Education Centre, Brock Room.

At the Preliminary Staffing Allocation meeting on March 11, 57 teachers (34.667 FTE) were declared potentially redundant. These teachers (the least senior in the Board) will remain outside of the staffing process until the Redundancy Placement meeting scheduled for June 4th. At last year's meeting, all potentially redundant teachers were successfully recalled and placed.

The TBU Staffing Committee met on April 2 to scrutinize the school staffing plans and on April 7 with individual principals to ensure that surplus declarations have been properly made.